Monday, December 2, 2013

The Winery Dogs

The power-trio/supergroup The Winery Dogs released their self-titled debut album this year. The band is made up of Richie Kotzen (Mr Big) on vocals/guitar, Billy Sheehan (Mr Big) on bass and finally Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater) on drums.

I first heard of the band from Paul Stanley, who mentioned the group in his Twitter feed. I looked them up and found this brilliant album. It's filled with superb musicianship with all members being very high-quality on their respective instruments. Both Sheehan and Portnoy are considered very competent musicians in the industry.

The sound is like a fun, less depressive Soundgarden (maybe due to the similar vocal style) and with an addition of catchy choruses.  Heavy, funky sound in the verses and more toward a straight arena-rock sound in the choruses. It's a combination that really works!

Best track: Elevate (what a chorus!!)

Track listing:
1. Elevate
2. Desire
3. We Are One
4. I'm No Angel
5. The Other Side
6. You Saved Me
7. Not Hopeless
8. One More Time
9. Damaged
10. Six Feet Deeper
11. Time Machine
12. The Dying
13. Regret

Desire (official video)

No comments:

Post a Comment